

Website information

Mental Health Act (MHA) and Criminal Procedures Scotland Act (CPSA)

The Mental Welfare Commission is undergoing changes to how we receive forms in relation to the Mental Health Act (MHA) and Criminal Procedures Scotland Act (CPSA).

The Commission currently receives forms for all of Scotland into one email address and this is processed by our Casework Admin Team, this team is currently under reorganisation and will be moving to a two team structure based on geographical areas or based on health board areas as detailed in Table 1 below.

Therefore as from Monday, 3 July 2023 can you please send your forms to:

MWC.TeamA@nhs.scot

MWC.TeamB@nhs.scot

Table 1: details the split of health board, local authority and health and social care partnerships into our two team structure

Team A (West): MWC.TeamA@nhs.scot

Board	Local Authority	Health & Social Care Partnership
Ayrshire & Arran	East Ayrshire	East Ayrshire
	North Ayrshire	North Ayrshire
	South Ayrshire	South Ayrshire
Dumfries & Galloway	Dumfries & Galloway	Dumfries & Galloway
Greater Glasgow &	East Dunbartonshire	East Dunbartonshire
Clyde	East Renfrewshire	East Renfrewshire
	City of Glasgow	Glasgow
	Inverclyde	Inverclyde
	West Dunbartonshire	West Dunbartonshire
	Renfrewshire	Renfrewshire
Highland	Argyll and Bute	Argyll and Bute
	Highland	Highland
Lanarkshire	North Lanarkshire	North Lanarkshire
	South Lanarkshire	South Lanarkshire
Western Isles	Comhairle nan Eilean Siar	Western Isles
The State Hospital	The State Hospital	The State Hospital

Team B (East): MWC.TeamB@nhs.scot

Board	Local Authority	Health & Social Care Partnership
Borders	Borders	Borders
Fife	Fife	Fife
Forth Valley	Clackmannanshire	Clackmannanshire & Stirling
	Stirling	
	Falkirk	Falkirk
Grampian	Aberdeen city	Aberdeen city
	Aberdeenshire	Aberdeenshire
	Moray	Moray
Lothian	Edinburgh	Edinburgh
	East Lothian	East Lothian
	West Lothian	West Lothian
	Midlothian	Midlothian
Tayside	Angus	Angus
	Dundee	Dundee
	Perth and Kinross	Perth and Kinross
Orkney	Orkney	Orkney
Shetland	Shetland	Shetland

If you need information or advice about these changes you can call the Mental Welfare Commission on 0131 313 8777 and ask to speak to Michael Banks, casework manager or Jack Morris, interim senior casework officer.